100+ integrations are ready to connect to your AI.Connect your first MCP

7 Best Zapier MCP Alternatives in 2026

Compare 7 Zapier MCP alternatives: PopMCP, Composio, Pipedream, Make, n8n, Arcade and Activepieces. Real pricing, per-call costs and who each fits best.

Why people look for Zapier MCP alternatives

Zapier MCP is a strong product. It covers 9,000+ apps and comes with SOC 2 Type II. People still look elsewhere for four main reasons.

  1. Every tool call costs two tasks

    Zapier's docs say each successful tool call "consumes two tasks." The Free plan's 100 tasks cover about 50 calls a month. Agents make many small calls, so quotas run out fast.

  2. MCP shares your Zap task pool

    There is no separate MCP budget. Heavy agent use can eat the tasks your Zaps need. Third-party reviews flag this as the top pain point.

  3. Batch work multiplies cost

    Zapier counts each item as its own call. Updating 5 rows is 5 calls, or 10 tasks.

  4. Actions are broad, not deep

    Zapier offers 66,000+ triggers and actions across 9,000+ apps. That is a handful per app on average. Teams doing detailed work in HubSpot, Shopify or ad platforms often want the full API.

Quick comparison table

ToolBest forApps or integrationsStarting priceHow usage is billed
PopMCPOur productBusiness tools, agencies, heavy use100+ providersFree; paid from $39/moTool calls never metered
ComposioDevelopers building agents1,500+ toolkitsFree (100,000 calls/mo)$0.0003 per call over quota on Scale
PipedreamEmbedding tools in your SaaS3,000+ integrationsFree (dev mode)Credits per call, plus end users
MakeRunning Make scenarios from AI3,000+ appsFree; paid from $12/moCredits per scenario run; no MCP fee
n8nWorkflow-first and self-hosting teamsWorkflows you buildFree self-hosted; Cloud from €20/moExecutions; MCP billing not stated
ArcadeProduction agents with user auth7,500+ tools, 81 MCP serversFree (2,000 calls/mo)$0.01 per call on Team
ActivepiecesOpen-source automation with MCP760+ integrationsFree; paid from $20/moCredits; MCP rate not stated
On this page7 sections
  1. PopMCP
  2. Composio
  3. Pipedream (Connect and MCP)
  4. Make MCP Server
  5. n8n MCP
  6. Arcade
  7. Activepieces

1. PopMCP

Our product

PopMCP hosts MCP servers for business tools. You authorize an account once and get a stable MCP URL. Paste it into Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or any Streamable HTTP client. Nothing to deploy.

Best for

Agencies, e-commerce teams and marketers whose AI works in Shopify, Amazon, Klaviyo, Meta Ads, Google Ads, GA4, HubSpot, Xero or QuickBooks every day.

Why it beats Zapier MCP for this use

  • Tool calls are never metered, billed or capped. Zapier charges two tasks per call.
  • Deeper catalogs. Over 1,000 HubSpot tools and 133 QuickBooks tools, reached through on-demand tool search.
  • Workspaces per client or brand, each with its own connections and usage data.
  • Credentials never reach the AI client. They are encrypted with AES-256-GCM. The client signs in with OAuth and never sees them.

Limitations

100+ providers, far fewer than Zapier. No workflow builder. No SOC 2 claim. No self-serve SSO. A newer brand with less third-party validation.

Pricing

Free ($0, 2 connections, read-only). Starter $39/mo. Studio $89/mo. Scale $199/mo. Enterprise from $600/mo. 14-day Studio trial, no card. See pricing.

Compare in detail: PopMCP vs Zapier MCP.

Get started free

2. Composio

A tool and auth platform for AI agents. It offers SDKs, a CLI and a managed MCP gateway. It also connects Claude or ChatGPT to everyday apps.

Best for

Developers building agents who want a very large toolkit and code-level control.

Why pick it over Zapier

A generous free call quota and very low per-call cost. 1,500+ toolkits is the largest catalog here after Zapier.

Limitations

Developer-first. Non-technical teams may find setup heavier than Zapier. It is not built around per-client workspaces for agencies. See PopMCP vs Composio and Composio alternatives.

Pricing

  • Free: $0, 100,000 tool calls a month, hard-capped, no card.
  • Scale: $29/mo, then $0.0003 per tool call over quota.
  • Enterprise: custom.

3. Pipedream (Connect and MCP)

A developer automation platform. Pipedream Connect lets you add 3,000+ integrations to your own app or agent, including via MCP. Workday agreed to acquire Pipedream in November 2025.

Best for

SaaS teams that want to give their own end users MCP tools inside their product.

Why pick it over Zapier

Built for embedding. You can bill and scope access per end user of your product.

Limitations

It is developer infrastructure, not a plug-in for a marketing team. Future direction under Workday is unclear. See PopMCP vs Pipedream and Pipedream alternatives.

Pricing

A free plan with Connect in development mode only. Paid plans include monthly credits. Connect bills on credits (action runs, MCP tool calls, proxy requests) plus unique end users. Basic costs $29/mo billed yearly, or $45 monthly. Connect costs $99/mo billed yearly, or $150 monthly. It covers 100 external users, then $2 per extra user.

4. Make MCP Server

Make's MCP server turns your Make scenarios into tools an AI can call. Paid plans also get management tools to view and edit scenarios, connections and data stores.

Best for

Teams that already build in Make and want AI to trigger those scenarios.

Why pick it over Zapier

A low entry price and 3,000+ apps. You shape exactly what the AI can do by building the scenario.

Limitations

The AI runs scenarios you built first. It does not freely call any app action. Scenario tool calls time out after 25 to 40 seconds. Make charges nothing extra for MCP. You pay the credits the scenario uses. For non-AI apps, 1 operation is 1 credit.

Pricing

Free ($0, 1,000 credits a month). Core $12/mo. Pro $21/mo. Teams $38/mo. Each paid plan starts at 10,000 credits a month. Annual billing saves 15% or more.

5. n8n MCP

n8n offers instance-level MCP access. AI clients can search workflows, run the ones you mark as available, and create or edit workflows. It works on Cloud and self-hosted.

Best for

Technical teams who want full control, self-hosting or a workflow-first design.

Why pick it over Zapier

Self-hosting removes per-task fees. You own the data and the runtime.

Limitations

You must build workflows before the AI can use them. Self-hosting means you run and patch the server. n8n bills per production execution, one full workflow run. Its MCP server runs workflows in production mode by default. n8n does not say if those runs count toward your plan.

Pricing

The Community Edition is free and open source. Cloud plans, billed yearly: Starter €20/mo (2,500 executions) and Pro €50/mo (10,000). Business (€667/mo, 40,000 executions) is self-hosted only. Enterprise is custom.

Tip: PopMCP also has an n8n connection, so you can manage n8n from Claude alongside your other tools.

6. Arcade

An actions runtime for production AI agents. It handles user OAuth, tokens and secrets, and ships agent-tuned tools.

Best for

Engineering teams shipping agents that act on behalf of many end users.

Why pick it over Zapier

Strong per-user auth and governance, plus framework support for LangChain, OpenAI Agents, CrewAI and Google ADK.

Limitations

Usage-based, like Zapier. 81 MCP servers is a smaller app list. Aimed at developers, not business users.

Pricing

  • Free: $0, 2,000 tool calls and 2,000 auth events a month.
  • Team: $25/mo platform fee, then $0.01 per tool call and $0.10 per auth event.
  • Enterprise: custom, with VPC or air-gapped deployment.

7. Activepieces

An open-source automation platform with flows, agents, tables and MCP on every plan.

Best for

Teams that want a Zapier-style builder with an open-source and self-host option.

Why pick it over Zapier

Open source, self-hostable and cheaper at entry. Credits are generous on Plus.

Limitations

760+ integrations is well below Zapier. MCP billing per call is not spelled out on the pricing page.

Pricing

Free ($0, 100 credits a day). Plus $20/mo (10,000 credits, up to 5 users). Team $200/mo (50,000 credits, 25 users). Ultimate is custom. Embed starts at $36,000 a year.

How to choose a Zapier MCP alternative

Answer three questions.

  1. How many tool calls will your AI make?

    • Under 50 a monthStay on Zapier Free.
    • Hundreds to thousandsPer-call billing adds up. Look at PopMCP (never metered) or Composio (very low per call).
  2. Who is the user?

    • Business users in Claude or ChatGPTPopMCP or Zapier.
    • Developers building agentsComposio or Arcade.
    • A SaaS product serving its own usersPipedream Connect.
    • Workflow buildersn8n, Make or Activepieces.
  3. Breadth or depth?

    • Many apps, light actionsZapier or Composio.
    • A few core business tools, full depthPopMCP.
    • Multiple clients or brandsPopMCP workspaces.

Still torn? Use two. Keep Zapier for niche apps and add PopMCP for the tools your AI uses all day. Both are remote MCP servers, so one client can load both. Read remote vs local MCP servers for background.

Try PopMCP free: 14 days of Studio, no card.

Zapier MCP alternatives: common questions

What is the best Zapier MCP alternative?

For business tools and agencies, PopMCP, because tool calls are never metered. For developers, Composio offers 100,000 free calls a month and 1,500+ toolkits. For embedding in your own app, Pipedream Connect.

Is there a free Zapier MCP alternative?

Yes. PopMCP, Composio, Make, Arcade and Activepieces all have free plans. n8n Community Edition is free if you self-host.

How much does Zapier MCP cost?

It runs on your Zapier plan. Each successful tool call uses two tasks. Free has 100 tasks a month. Professional starts at $19.99 a month billed yearly for 750 tasks, or about 375 calls.

Which MCP alternative does not charge per tool call?

PopMCP never meters, bills or caps tool calls on any plan. Self-hosted n8n and Activepieces avoid vendor usage fees, but you pay to run the server.

Can I use Zapier MCP with other MCP servers?

Yes. MCP clients like Claude and Cursor can load several remote servers at once. You can run Zapier MCP next to PopMCP or Composio.

Is Zapier MCP good for agencies?

It works, but Zapier documents no per-client workspaces. Zapier MCP allows one server per AI client, such as one for Claude. PopMCP gives each client a separate workspace with its own connections and usage data.

What happened to Klavis?

Klavis's homepage now leads with coding and agentic data for "frontier post-training". If you want a hosted MCP connector for business tools, the options above are a closer fit.

Sources

21 references, checked 24 September 2026

PopMCP wrote this page. We took competitor prices and features from each vendor's own site or docs on the date above, and any third-party source is labelled. Prices change, so check the vendor before you buy.

  1. Zapier MCP product pagezapier.com
  2. Zapier MCP usage and billingdocs.zapier.com
  3. Zapier MCP toolsdocs.zapier.com
  4. Zapier MCP securitydocs.zapier.com
  5. Zapier pricingzapier.com
  6. Third-party review of Zapier MCP costs (context for complaints)latenode.com
  7. Composio pricingcomposio.dev
  8. Pipedream pricing docspipedream.com
  9. Workday acquisition of Pipedreamnewsroom.workday.com
  10. Make pricingmake.com
  11. Make MCP cost FAQmake.com
  12. Make creditshelp.make.com
  13. Pipedream pricingpipedream.com
  14. Make MCP Server docsdevelopers.make.com
  15. n8n pricingn8n.io
  16. n8n MCP server docsdocs.n8n.io
  17. Arcade pricingarcade.dev
  18. Arcade docsdocs.arcade.dev
  19. Activepieces pricingactivepieces.com
  20. Klavis AI siteklavis.ai
  21. PopMCP pricingpopmcp.com

Related comparisons and guides

All comparisons
7 min read

PopMCP vs Zapier MCP

PopMCP vs Zapier MCP compared: pricing, tasks per tool call, app coverage, clients and security. See which Zapier MCP alternative fits your team in 2026.Read the comparison
8 min read

7 Best Composio Alternatives in 2026

Compare the 7 best Composio alternatives for 2026: PopMCP, Nango, Arcade, Zapier MCP, Pipedream, Merge and n8n. Real pricing, strengths and limits.See the list
9 min read

8 Best Pipedream Alternatives in 2026

Compare the 8 best Pipedream alternatives for 2026: PopMCP, Composio, Zapier, n8n, Make, Nango, Arcade and Paragon. Real pricing, strengths and limits.See the list
8 min read

7 Best Smithery Alternatives in 2026

Compare 7 Smithery alternatives for 2026: PopMCP, the official MCP Registry, Glama, Docker MCP Catalog, Composio, PulseMCP and mcp.so, with real pricing.See the list
8 min read

MCP vs API: What's the Difference?

MCP vs API explained: APIs do the work, MCP lets AI clients find and call that work in one standard way. See how they differ and when you need both.Read the guide
8 min read

Remote vs Local MCP Servers: Which Should You Use?

Remote vs local MCP server: local runs on your machine over stdio, remote runs at a URL over Streamable HTTP. Compare setup, security and when to use each.Read the guide

Try PopMCP free

Every account starts with 14 days on Studio, no card required. Connect a tool and paste one URL into your AI client.

Try PopMCP free